Concealed Carry Permit Classes

To register for a concealed carry permit class you must first register with the state of Tennessee. To do that go to https://www.tn.gov/ / After you complete the form you will receive a conformation number by e-mail. When you receive your confirmation # please e-mail it to contact@smallarmstrainingschool.com and also print a copy and bring it to class.

After you have registered with the state you must call, Jim Mauth at 615-794-3333. Let him know you have registered and that you would like to get signed up for a class. The registration DOES NOT automatically get you in a class. You must contact Jim and he will get you in the next available class. Your registration is good for 6 months.

Our class is a one day class that starts at 8:00 a.m. and finishes between 4 and 4:30 p.m. Our classroom time and shooting time takes place in the same location. We will have an hour lunch break. Donuts and coffee will be provided.

The cost for the class is $90.00. We accept cash or check at the end of the course and if you don’t pass, you don’t pay! Our goal is for you to succeed.

Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit Class

This class is a basic safety course required by the State of Tennessee to apply for and obtain your Handgun Carry Permit. Our classes exceed the state’s requirements for a firearms training school and will help build the groundwork for both new and experienced shooters. This includes basic firearm safety, general firearm classification, selection of a firearm for your personal needs, ammunition, holsters and other carrying options. We also cover the basics of marksmanship, such as sight alignment, trigger control, weapon presentation and manipulation. There is a written test covering the class-related information, as well as shooting qualification test. You must obtain a passing grade in each to receive a certificate. Our instructors are NRA and  Tennessee State certified instructors and longtime members of the International Defensive Pistol Association (IDPA).

This video highlights how a concealed carry permit can turn a bad situation into a heroic moment. https://youtu.be/epZod2qyyN4

Concealed Carry Permit Calendar

January 27, 2018                           July 23, 2018

February 17, 2018                          August 25, 2018

March 24, 2018                              September 22, 2018

April 21, 2018                                 October 20, 2018

May 26, 2018                                 November 17, 2018

June 23, 2018                                No December Class

 

Classes fill up quickly, so enroll now! You must have a reservation to attend the carry class. Give our office a call at 615-794-3333 – Jim will answer any questions you may have and provide more details.

Handgun Safety Class

In addition to our permit class, we offer a free Handgun Safety Class which is sponsored by the WCSD.  The Handgun Safety Class is  a three week class that meets quarterly {March, May, August, and October} on Tuesday and Thursday nights from 7:00 pm until 9:00 pm.

Areas of focus include:

  • Handgun safety
  • Range safety
  • Gun cleaning
  • Loading and unloading
  • Proper storage
  • Strong hand/weak hand shooting
  • Defensive tactics
  • Class discussion of handgun laws led by the Williamson County District Attorney’s office

The Saturdays following course weeks 1 and 2 are spent on the Williamson County Sheriff’s Office Fire Arms Range from 9:00am to 11:00am.  During these sessions, we will apply principles discussed during class.  We have handguns available for you to borrow during Saturday sessions free of charge or you may bring your own.

Upon graduation from the Williamson County Sheriff’s Office Handgun Safety Class, graduates may take advantage of free range time.  The last Saturday of even numbered months (February, April, June, August, October), the range will be open from 9:00 am to 12:00 pm for guided practice and additional instruction.

Dates of the Hand Gun Safety Class

March 10 – 24

May 5 – 26

August 11 – 25

October 6 – 20

Registration Required